Economic Development Committee

The Economic Development Committee was established by the City with a mission to promote and strengthen the local economy.  The Committee assists and encourages existing and new business and commerce in South Portland and advises and makes recommendations to City officials and staff.  The Committee meetings are posted on the City Calendar two weeks in advance, and are open to the public.

Economic Development Committee Members:

 There may be no more than three members from any one voting district

Name Appointee District Appointed By Term Expiration
Donna Larson Kane  District Two  Pride (District Three) 03/23/22
Ken Bell District Two Leighton (District One) 03/23/24
Martha Riehle District One Henderson (At-Large) 03/23/23
Ellen Clancy, Chair District Two Caricchio (District Four) 03/03/22
Sari Greene District One Bruzgo (At-Large) 03/23/23
James LaPlante District Four Lewis (District Two) 03/23/24
VACANT   Dhalac (District Five) 03/23/24

Current projects and documents:

  • Micro- and Emergency- Loan Program descriptions
  • Way Finding Signs description
  • Growth area TIF description


Doing Business in South Portland from SPC-TV on Vimeo.