The South Portland Historical Society was established in 1962. Originally known as the Cape Historical Society, and later the South Portland/Cape Elizabeth Historical Society, the organization changed its name to the South Portland Historical Society in 2003 to clarify its role as the historical society of the City of South Portland.

Throughout most of its history, the historical society was housed in various city properties, including the former Reynolds School, the former E Street School, the former Sawyer School Annex building and, up until the year 2009, a basement office in City Hall. In 2009, Portland Pipe Line Corporation donated the historic Cushing's Point House building on Madison Street and the Society had the building moved to a new location within Bug Light Park, on land provided by the City of South Portland.

South Portland Historical Society's Mission

The South Portland Historical Society is dedicated to collecting, preserving and exhibiting items of historical significance, providing local history educational programming to school children through seniors, and illustrating the significant role that South Portland has played within the broader context of Maine and American history.

Board of Directors            

President – Shirley Mooers

Vice President – Bob Blackwood

Treasurer – Charles Carbonneau

Secretary – Emily Scully

Historian – Larry Legere

Collection Manager – Bob Doan

At large – Judy Arnold

At large – Leslie Barteaux

At large – Lloyd Reynolds

At large – Linda Eastman

At large – Chuck Igo

At large – David Kahill

At large – Seth Goldstein

At large – Jane Eberle

At large – Peter Wright

At large – Marieke Van Der Steenhoven


Executive Director

Kathryn Onos DiPhilippo