Party Caucus Information 

Maine is a caucus state.  Political parties in Maine hold caucuses in Presidential and Gubernatorial election years.  Each qualified political party in the state must hold a biennial municipal caucus for the purpose of electing delegates to a state convention and for any other business.  

The State Primary Election is different from a party caucus.
The State Primary will be held June 12, 2018. 

State Law  requires the attendance of the town/city registrar at least 30 minutes prior to the start of the caucus to allow residents to register to vote or enroll in that party.   You must be a registered voter enrolled in the political party in order to participate in that party's caucus.  New and unenrolled voters may register to vote and enroll in the party the day of the caucus with the town/city registrar on-site at least 30 minutes prior to the caucus start time.  For voters already enrolled in a party and looking to change parties, this change must be made with the registrar 15 days prior to the caucus date in order to participate in your new party's caucus. 

As municipal party caucus information becomes available to the Clerk's office, it will be posted here.   Please reach out to the party for more information.  All caucuses must be held by March 20, 2018.  

Party Contact  Caucus Date  Caucus Location Caucus Start Time
Democratic        Matthew Beck, Chair Sunday, March 4, 2018                            South Portland Community Center - Senior Wing


1:00pm (register to vote starting at 12:00 noon)


Republican    Kandi-Lee Hoy, Chair                                Saturday, March 10, 2018 South Portland Community Center - Teen Room


9:00am (register to vote starting at 8:00am)



Green Independent                       Ben Miekeljohn, Chair Sunday, March 4, 2018 South Portland City Hall Council Chambers

3:30pm (register to vote starting at 3:00pm)


Libertarian   Dean Staples; Libertarian Party of Maine Sunday, March 18  Curtis Memorial Library, Brunswick in Seminar Room (Cumberland County Caucus)

 12:00pm noon (register to vote starting at 11:30am)