Southern Maine Regional SWAT

Current_SWAT_Patch.jpgThe Department is fortunate to have a highly skilled group of officers that volunteer to be a part of the Police SWAT (Special Weapons and Tactics). In 2009 The department entered into a partnership with Scarborough and Cape Elizabeth to Form the Southern Maine Regional SWAT Team. The 25 person team is made up of officers from South Portland, Scarborough and Cape Elizabeth and is comprised of 21 officers and 4 Medics. The Southern Maine Regional SWAT team works very closely with our counterparts in the Regional Crisis Negotiating team from the same deparments.

This team is assigned to some of the most dangerous situations in which officer assistance is required. Although members are in top physical condition and trained to use a variety of weapons, these officers are just as skilled at methods of communication designed to de-escalate problems to ensure a safe resolution to any crisis. Officers receive between 150-192 hours of training each year. Training topics include: Weapon skills, Physical fitness, building clearing, dealing with mental ill, legal issues, first aid and numerous other topics.

Contact Swat

South Portland Police Department

NameEmail
Sgt John Sutton Johnsu@southportland.org
Sgt Benjamin Macisso BMacisso@southportland.org
Off Scott Corbett Scotco@southportland.org
Off Brian McCarthy bmccarthy@southportland.org
Det Jake Hall jhall@southportland.org
Det Jeff Levesque jeffle@southportland.org

Officer Jeff Warren

jwarren@southportland.org

Det Jonathan Stearns

jstearns@southportland.org

Ofc Chris Schofield

cschofield@southportland.org

Ofc Chris Gosling

cgosling@southportland.org

Cape Elizabeth Police Department

NameEmail
Det Paul Fenton paul.fenton@capeelizabeth.org
Off Jeffrey Gaudette jeffery.gaudette@capeelizabeth.org

Scarborough Police Department

NameEmail
 Sgt Tom Chard TChard@ci.scarborough.me.us
Det Don Laflin dlaflin@ci.scarborough.me.us
Ofc Mike Beeler MBeele@ci.scarborough.me.us
Ofc Mike Sawyer MSawye@ci.scarborough.me.us
Det Garrett Strout GStrout@ci.scarborough.me.us
Ofc Ian Theriault ITheriault@ci.scarborough.me.us
Det Tim Dalton TDalton@ci.scarborough.me.us
Ofc Ted Mahar-Medic tmahar@ci.scarborough.me.us
Ofc Travis Hon thon@ci.scarborough.me.us

South Portland Fire Department

NameEmail
Lt Harry Weymouth- Medic HWeymouth@southportland.org
FF Fred Floberg-Medic ffloberg@southportland.org
FF Blake Davis-Medic bdavis@southportland.org

Contact Crisis Negotiators

South Portland Police Department

NameEmail
Sgt Kevin Gerrish KGerrish@southportland.org
Det Robert Libby Robeli@southportland.org
Ofc Rocco Navarro RNAVARRO@southportland.org
Ofc Erin Curry ecurry@southportland.org

Cape Elizabeth Police Department

NameEmail
Det Mark Dorval  mark.dorval@capeelizabeth.org

Scarborough Police Department

NameEmail
Sgt Gene O'Neill eoneil@ci.scarborough.me.us
Det Eric Greenleaf egreen@ci.scarborough.me.us